123 E HASTINGS St, Vancouver BC
Built in 1903 by architect George William Grant for John and Jane Lewerke, this building is typical of the two- to three-storey buildings erected with a commercial operation on the main floor and residential accommodation above. It was originally used as a shoe store, barber and employment agency - all catering to the largely male population. In 1908, it became the home of the Goodwin Shoe Company, which remained in this location until the 1920s. A series of different tenants have occupied the premises since then.
This small building has unique and ornate Art Nouveau-style ornamentation on a sombre Edwardian backdrop. The upper storey has remained essentially intact, although the main floor storefront has been altered. It is a rare survivor with its unusual decoration.
Photo Credit: Madeleine de Trenqualye
Canada's Historic Places